Hango re-elected as Oshakati mayor

The Oshakati Town Council re-elected Swapo’s Leonard Hango as the town’s mayor for the third time on Monday.

Hango will be deputised by fellow Swapo councillor Puyeipawa Elifas, who also retained her position.

Maria Mutumbulwa, Hofeni Mutota and Ruusa Frans, also remain members of the management committee.

Independent Patriots for Change (IPC) councillors, Jerobeam Ndaamohamba and Pinehas Aluvilu are ordinary members.

In his acceptance speech, Hango promised to work tirelessly on behalf of each and every resident of Oshakati.

He then called for cooperation from all residents in order to take Oshakati to greater heights.

“Your voices, your ideas and your concerns are invaluable. Together, we will shape the future of Oshakati, ensuring that it remains a place of opportunity, prosperity for all,” he said.

He then urged the members of the community to always honour their municipal services, saying it is through paying their municipal services that they can grow their town.

Hango also noted that they will focus on improving essential services, investing in infrastructure and creating opportunities for economic growth and sustainable development.

Further, he said environmental sustainability will continue to be at the forefront of their agenda, and they will continue to explore new initiatives and implement policies that protect the town in various ways.

Source: Namibian Press Agency