U.S. Embassy Honors the National Chief Imam with the 2016 Martin Luther King, Jr. Award

On August 25, Ambassador Robert P. Jackson presented the 2016 Martin Luther King, Jr. Award for Peace and Social Justice to National Chief Imam Sheikh Dr. Osmanu Nuhu Sharubutu in recognition of his lifelong commitment to promoting peace and mutual understanding.

Since 2008, this annual award from the U.S. Embassy has recognized a Ghanaian citizen who exemplifies the spirit of American civil rights leader Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. (1929-1968). It honors those who are building a culture of peacemaking, dialogue, and conflict resolution.

Ambassador Jackson stated, Sheikh Sharubutu has demonstrated true leadership�applying compassion, commitment, and honesty in his undertakings.rdquo; He added that Sheikh Sharubutu’s convictions, approaches, and actions have contributed greatly to harmony both within Muslim communities and among different faith groups. At the award ceremony, Sheikh Sharubutu said that he is accepting the award on behalf of all Muslims in Ghana.

Sheikh Sharubutu is a member of the National Peace Council. He is also the life patron of the Islamic Peace and Security Council, a non-governmental organization that advocates for peace.

Below is a list of recipients of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Award for Peace and Social Justice:

2016 MLK Award Recipient

Sheikh Dr. Osmanu Nuhu Sharubutu, National Chief Imam of Ghana

2015 MLK Award Recipient

Dr. Emmanuel Akwetey, Executive Director of Institute for Democratic Governance (IDEG)

2014 MLK Award Recipient

Most Reverend Professor Emmanuel Asante, Head of the National Peace Council and Presiding Bishop of the Methodist Church of Ghana

2013 MLK Award Recipient

Ms. Afi Azaratu Yakubu, Executive Director of the Foundation for Security and Development in Africa (FOSDA)

2012 MLK Award Recipient

Dr. David Abdulai Fuseini, Founder of Shekhinah Clinic in Tamale

2011 MLK Award Recipient

Mr. George Achibra, Director of Partners in Community Development Programme (PACODEP) and Touch a Life Foundation

2010 MLK Award Recipient

Mrs. Janet Adama Mohammed, Executive Director of Human Rights and Democratization Project

2009 MLK Award Recipient

Mrs. Angela Dwamena-Aboagye, Executive Director of the Ark Foundation

2008 MLK Award Recipients

The Right Reverend Vincent Boi-Nai, Bishop of Yendi; and

Alhaji Alhussein, Director of Community Development and Youth Advisory Center (CODEYAC)

Source: U.S. Department of State.