African Continental Road Champs results: SA third in elite women’s TTT

South Africa finished on the podium in the elite women’s team time-trial at the African Continental Road Championships in Bahir Dar, Ethiopia, today.

The team, comprising Carla Oberholzer, Liezel Jordaan, Zanri Rossouw, Joanna van de Winkel and Sanet Coetzee, finished third behind Eritrea and Ethiopia in second and first respectively.

The SA junior men’s team just missed a place on the podium, finishing fourth. The team, comprising Damon Fouchee, Dian Fritz and Tiano Da Silva, were reportedly the only team at the African champs to have three riders.

Above that, only two of the riders reportedly rode with time-trial bikes.

The SA elite men did not take part in the TTT.

Source: Dehai Eritrea Online